Coastal Skipper/Yachtmaster Shore Based Course 2015/16

Course Type

RYA Coastal Skipper/ Yachtmaster Shorebased Courses

Sessions

Thu 08 Oct 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 15 Oct 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 22 Oct 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 29 Oct 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 05 Nov 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 12 Nov 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 19 Nov 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 26 Nov 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 03 Dec 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 10 Dec 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 17 Dec 2015 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 07 Jan 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 14 Jan 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 21 Jan 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 28 Jan 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 04 Feb 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 11 Feb 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 18 Feb 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 25 Feb 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 03 Mar 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 10 Mar 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 17 Mar 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 24 Mar 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm
Thu 31 Mar 2016 07:00pm - 09:30pm

Duration

Run during the Autumn and Winter months

Course Fee

£240.00 including the Yachtmaster Course Pack

Supporting material can be purchased through the club office.

Course Code

CS/YM 1

Course Description

This is the theory course required for both RYA Coastal Skipper and RYA Yachtmaster qualifications.

Venue: Carsington Sailing Club

DATES:  Not yet decided for 2017/18

Cost for the 2017/18 Course: To be published.

Below is a section adapted from the RYA website which outlines the basis of the course.

This course will take your theory knowledge to the standard required for the Coastal Skipper and Yachtmaster Offshore practical exams, concentrating on advanced navigation and meteorology skills.

As with the Day Skipper shorebased course, the RYA’s specially designed chart plotter software will be used during the course to give you a realistic taste of modern electronic navigation.

The course at Carsington are generally taught during the Autumn and Winter period as a series of 20 plus evening sessions including three exam papers.

Course topics include:

  • position fixing
  • course shaping and plotting
  • tidal knowledge
  • use of almanacs and admiralty publications
  • electronic position finding equipment
  • taking and interpreting forecasts
  • plotting weather systems
  • weather predictions using a barometer and by observation
  • collision regulations
  • customs and excise regulations for cruising abroad

It allows some time for revision of the basics and then moves on to advanced navigation techniques. 

 

 

 

Previous Experience

None essential but it would be an advantage to have completed the Day Skipper Theory.

Booking Information

To book a place on a course please call Marie Stanbrook on 01629 540609, email her or visit the Club in person (Wednesday to Sunday).

Alternative Course Dates

Sorry there are no alternative dates for this event.